Log in Subscribe Join Grass Roots Action

Article Details State and Local Employment Law Developments

Thursday, October 11, 2018

(North American Meat Institute)

A new article published by Faegre Baker Daniels summarizes recent and upcoming state and local employment law developments. The article details minimum wage, pay history, sexual harassment, sick leave and other regulations adopted in Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Washington. In California, for instance, the minimum wage will increase from $11 per hour to $12 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees effective January 1, 2019. Amendments to San Francisco’s Fair Chance Ordinance, which further regulate an employers’ use of criminal history in making employment decisions, became effective October 1. New Jersey’s new sick leave requirements, which preempt local ordinances, take effect October 29, while New York employers, as of October 9, are required to adopt a sexual harassment policy and provide each employee with sexual harassment training annually.

 share on facebook  share on twitter