Log in Subscribe Join Grass Roots Action

USDA Appoints New Members to the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

(American Meat Institute)

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has appointed nine new members and 10 returning members to the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (NACMCF) who will serve as scientific experts representing disciplines related to health and food safety issues. Eleven additional experts will be appointed later this year to form the full 30-member committee.

The nine new members of the committee are: Dr. Wafa Birbari, Sara Lee Corp.; Dr. Robert Dole, U.S. Department of Defense Veterinary Services Activity; Dr. David Golden, University of Tennessee Department of Food Science & Technology; Dr. Margaret Hardin, Texas A&M University Department of Animal Science; Dr. Dallas Hoover, University of Delaware Department of Animal & Food Sciences; Dr. Lee Johnson, West Liberty Foods; Dr. Nandini Natrajan, Keystone Foods LLC; Robert Whitaker, Produce Marketing Association; and Dr. Martin Wiedmann, Cornell University Department of Food Science.

The NACMCF, established in 1988, provides scientific advice on public health issues relative to the safety and wholesomeness of the U. S. food supply. The committee also assists in the development of microbiological criteria and reviews and evaluates epidemiological and risk assessment data as well as methodologies for assessing microbiological hazards.

The Secretary of Agriculture appoints committee members following consultation with the Secretary of Health and Human Services. Appointees are scientists from academia, industry, and government. Committee members serve a two-year term.

For more information and to view the complete listing of NACMCF, go to http://www.fsis.usda.gov/about_fsis/NACMCF_Members/index.asp.

 share on facebook  share on twitter