Log in Join Grass Roots Action

AMI Board Elects New Directors and Officers at Annual Business Meeting

Friday, October 19, 2001

The AMI Board of Directors elected six officers, seven executive committee members and six new directors yesterday during the Institute’s Annual Business Meeting held during Worldwide Food Expo ’01, at McCormick Place in Chicago, IL.

The following officers were elected to serve one-year terms:

  • Phil Clemens, chairman and chief executive officer of Hatfield Quality Meats, in Hatfield, PA, was elected chairman.

  • Richard A. Searer, of the Oscar Mayer Division of Kraft Foods, Inc., was elected vice chairman.

  • Stewart Owens, chairman, president and chief operating officer of Bob Evans Farms Inc., in Columbus, OH, was elected treasurer.

  • William Buckner, corporate vice president of Cargill, Inc., and president of Excel Corporation, in Wichita, KS, will serve as secretary.

  • W. Dan Wright, president and CEO of Wright Brand Foods, Inc., in Vernon, TX, and AMI's 2001 chairman, becomes immediate past chairman. J. Patrick Boyle was reelected by the AMI membership to serve a thirteenth term as the Institute's president and CEO.

    New members of AMI’s Board of Directors include: John Arends, president, Plumrose USA, East Brunswick, NJ; Dane Bernard, vice president, food safety/quality, Keystone Foods Corp., Bala Cynwyd, PA; Richard L. Bond, co-chief operating officer, Tyson Foods, Inc., Dakota Dunes, SD; John Butts, vice president, research and development, Land O’ Frost Inc., Lansing, IL; Russell Cross, chief executive officer, Future Beef Operations, LLC, Parker, CO; Louis Eni Jr., president, Dietz & Watson, Philadelphia, PA. Directors will serve from 2001 to 2004.

    New members of AMI’s Executive Committee include: Richard L. Bond, co-chief operating officer, Tyson Foods, Inc., Dakota Dunes, SD; William Buckner, corporate vice president, Cargill, Inc., and president, Excel Corp., Wichita, KS; Ivo Cozzini, president, Cozzini Inc., Chicago, IL; Dave Miniat, president, Ed Miniat, Inc., Homewood, IL; Daniel Ochylski, president and chief executive officer, The Pinnacle Food Group, Des Moines, IO; John Simons, president and chief operating officer, ConAgra Beef Company, Greeley, CO; Fritz Usinger, president of Fred Usinger, Inc., Milwaukee, WI.

 share on facebook  share on twitter