Log in Join Grass Roots Action

Meat Institute Honors Industry Leaders at Annual Awards Ceremony and Luncheon at 2019 IPPE

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

(North American Meat Institute)

The Meat Institute honored four industry leaders at its Annual Awards Ceremony and Luncheon and presented worker safety and environmental recognition and achievement awards during the 2019 International Production and Processing Expo (IPPE) in Atlanta, Georgia. The luncheon featured Meat Institute Board of Directors, key industry leaders, representatives from packer and processor companies and award recipients and their families.

Barry Carpenter, former NAMI president and CEO, received the Richard E. Lyng Award for Public Service in recognition of his service and commitment to the meat industry. David McDonald, president and chief operating officer of OSI Group, received the E. Floyd Forbes Award for his service as the Meat Institute’s chairman during its organizational merger and inaugural year.

Shane MacKenzie, executive vice president of operations for Superior Farms, received the Industry Advancement Award for technological advancements in lamb processing and for his in-depth knowledge of the lamb industry. Meanwhile, Doug Sutton, vice president of research and development for Smithfield Foods, received the Foundation for Meat and Poultry Research and Education’s Scientific Achievement Award for pioneering process improvements and new product formulations that meet and exceed consumers’ expectations.

The Supplier of the Year Award was presented to Multivac for its work on technologies to help support consistent food safety practices.

The Meat Institute also presented Worker Safety Recognition Awards to 95 meat and poultry plants that have achieved high levels of workplace safety performance as part of the industry’s continuing effort to reduce occupational injury and illness rates. Environmental Recognition Awards were presented to 146 companies, honoring their dedication to continuous environmental improvement, as witnessed by the development and implementation of Environmental Management Systems. Smithfield Foods in Salt Lake City, Utah; JBS USA’s Hyrum Beef in Hyrum, Utah; and JBS USA’s Omaha Beef in Omaha, Nebraska received Environmental Achievement Awards.

In addition to the Annual Awards Ceremony and Luncheon, the Meat Institute participated in the Meat Industry Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony held February 11 in Atlanta. Meat Institute President and CEO Julie Anna Potts delivered the keynote address honoring this year’s inductees, who include: Rod Bowling, agriculture marketing specialist, Agricultural Marketing Service and owner, AgriFood Solutions International; Neil Genshaft, chief executive officer, Fresh Mark; Ronald Miniat, chairman of the board, Miniat Holdings (posthumously); Elsa Murano, director, Borlaug Institute and past president, Texas A&M University; James Riemann, assistant secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture (retired) and past president, Certified Angus Beef LLC; Mike Satzow, executive vice president, North Country Smokehouse; and Jimmy Wise, meat judging program coordinator, American Meat Science Association (retired) and agriculture marketing specialist, Agricultural Marketing Service.

The 2019 IPPE featured a record 1,400 exhibitors and 600,000 square feet of exhibit space, drawing more than 33,000 attendees. In addition to hosting the Annual Awards Luncheon at IPPE, the Meat Institute sponsored more than 100 hours of free and paid meat-specific education sessions , with workshops addressing meat quality, international trade, labeling, family business succession planning and regulatory compliance, among other topics. The Meat Institute’s Environmental Conference for the Meat and Poultry Industry and the Worker Safety Conference for the Meat and Poultry Industry were both co-located with the 2019 IPPE.

 share on facebook  share on twitter