Log in Join Grass Roots Action

NAMI Scholarship Foundation Announces 2018-2019 Award Winners

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

(North American Meat Institute)

The NAMI Scholarship Foundation last week announced the recipients of its 2018-2019 undergraduate scholarship awards. Eleven high-performing undergraduate students received a combined total of $55,000 to pursue degrees in animal, meat and food science, and in culinary arts.

Katelyn Gaffield received the Frank DeBenedetti Memorial Scholarship to continue her studies at University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. University of Florida student Kylie Philipps received the John Duyn award, while LeAnna Tanner, a student at the University of Tennessee Knoxville, received the Florence Smith Powers scholarship. Abbie Uhlenkott was awarded the Al Piccetti scholarship to pursue her degree at University of Idaho. Westesha Neely received the Robert Hatoff “Center of the Plate” Memorial Scholarship to advance her studies at Johnson and Wales University – North Miami. In addition, Charley Rayfield, Oklahoma State University, received the newly-established Ron Gustafson Scholarship and Kory Anderson, University of Wisconsin, was awarded the Rosemary Mucklow Scholarship.

Meanwhile, Emma Mortensen, Texas Tech University; Conrad Schelkopf, Colorado State University; Emmy Bechtold, Oklahoma State University; and Macey Randig, Texas A&M University each received NAMI Merit Scholarships.

 share on facebook  share on twitter