Log in Subscribe Join Grass Roots Action

TPP Agreement Moves Forward Against Backdrop of Trump Asia Visit

Monday, November 13, 2017

(North American Meat Institute)

Representatives from the 11 remaining Trans-Pacific Partnership countries last week announced an agreement to move forward with negotiations on the trade pact, from which the U.S. withdrew in January. Core details of the renamed Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP), announced at the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) summit, have been agreed upon, with only a few outstanding issues still to be resolved. Officials from the 11 countries signaled that a final deal could be announced in early 2018, but each member state would be required to ratify and sign the agreement before it can be implemented. The decision to proceed with the revised pact was announced during President Donald Trump's 13-day, five-country visit to Asia. The 11 CPTPP countries are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.

 share on facebook  share on twitter