Log in Subscribe Join Grass Roots Action

Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria Established

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

(North American Meat Institute)

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the Department of Defense announced the appointment of nationally recognized experts to the Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria, which is comprised of fifteen experts and five organizations tasked with providing advice, information and recommendations to the HHS Secretary on programs and policies related to combating antibiotic-resistant bacteria. Five of the fifteen voting members have agriculture-related experience, including Dr. Michael Apley, professor, Department of Clinical Sciences, Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine; Dr. Peter Robert Davies, professor of swine health and production, University of Minnesota; Dr. Randall Singer, professor of epidemiology, Department of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences, University of Minnesota; and Dr. Thomas Shryock, chief scientific officer and managing member, Antimicrobial Consultants, LLC. Dr. Lonnie King, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine and executive dean of Health Science Colleges, Ohio State University, will serve as vice chair of the Advisory Council.

Representatives from the National Pork Producers Council and the Animal Health Institute also have been selected for membership. To view the full list of Advisory Council appointees, click here.

The Advisory Council’s inaugural public meeting will be held Tuesday, September 29, 2015, in the Great Hall of the Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue SW, Washington, DC 20201.

 share on facebook  share on twitter