Log in Subscribe Join Grass Roots Action

Rosemary Mucklow Honored with AMI’s Richard E. Lyng Award

Friday, February 22, 2008

(American Meat Institute)

AMI has awarded longtime meat industry leader Rosemary Mucklow, executive director emeritus of the National Meat Association (NMA), with its prestigious Richard E. Lyng Award in recognition of her long and continued commitment and dedication to the meat industry.

The award was presented by AMI President and CEO Patrick Boyle to Mucklow at the NMA Annual convention in Monterey, California.

The Lyng Award is named after the late Richard E. Lyng (1918-2003), former President of the American Meat Institute (1973-79) and Secretary of Agriculture under President Ronald Reagan.

From 1982 until 2007, Mucklow served as the director of the National Meat Association (NMA), a national association representing meat packers, processors, wholesalers, sausage makers and related firms in the U. S. meat industry. Mucklow received the E. Floyd Forbes award presented by the NMA in 1996 in recognition of her outstanding service to the meat industry. The most recent recognition for her contributions to the industry was a hall named for her at the Cal Ploy State University in San Luis Obispo, California.

Mucklow was born and schooled in Edinburgh, Scotland. She received a BA degree in accounting from Golden Gate University, in San Francisco. She resides in Berkeley, California.

“Rosemary Mucklow’s long career of service to the meat industry embodies the same dedication to public service as evidenced by Dick Lyng,” said Boyle. “She is a very worthy recipient of this award in Secretary Lyng’s name.”

 share on facebook  share on twitter